AFL Anzac Day betting

Home - AFL Online Betting - AFL Anzac Day betting

Since its inception in 1995, the annual ANZAC Day clash between Collingwood and Essendon has become one of Australia’s most celebrated Australian sports betting traditions.

Millions tune in on April 25 every year to watch two of the AFL’s fiercest rivals do battle in front of a packed house at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Anzac Day AFL

It’s not all about football, of course, as the pre-match ceremony honouring the nation’s fallen troops is what makes ANZAC Day at the ‘G such a special occasion.

But once the Last Post has sounded and the minute’s silence is up, it’s game on.

Leading online bookmakers run ANZAC Day AFL betting specials every year, along with all the usual match bets, player props, line wagers and AFL exotics.

Let’s see what’s in store for 2019.

United States Top AFL ANZAC Day Bookmakers

Top AFL ANZAC Day Bookmakers

Collingwood vs. Essendon ANZAC Day 2019

With everything that’s happened in the lead-up to AFL 2019, this year’s big clash at the MCG could be the tightest contest in years.

After missing finals last season, the Bombers are widely tipped to climb the ladder in 2019 after an impressive recruiting drive and the return of its biggest star.

The Bombers, to the surprise of many, were able to recruit former GWS star Dylan Shiel to the club to fill a great need in the Bombers’ engine room. Shiel is one of the game’s best midfielders and in a game that increasingly requires more players capable of playing through the centre, he will give real legitimacy to an Essendon side that already boasts Dyson Heppell, Zac Merrett, Devon Smith and David Zaharakis.

In addition to that, Joe Daniher, the club’s biggest star and one of the league’s most dynamic forwards, will return from an osteitis pubis injury that ruled him out for most of the 2018 season.

After starting the season in horrible form in 2018, the Bombers found form on the run home and will bring belief and momentum into a season in which they will start as $12 favourite to go all the way.

Collingwood will come into this year’s ANZAC Day match with confidence and the backing of bookmaker after coming within one kick of the premiership in 2018.

The Magpies, which went from 13th on the ladder in 2017 to 4th and a Grand Final appearance the year later, has added former Brisbane captain Dayne Beams to its already league-best midfield and will be tough to beat if they stay fit.

ANZAC Medal betting

The ANZAC Medal is awarded every year to the player whose performance best embodies the ANZAC virtues of skill, bravery, mateship, honour and self-sacrifice.

Much like the Norm Smith Medal for best on ground in the AFL Grand Final, it is one of the hottest footy betting markets of the season.

Four players have claimed the ANZAC Medal on more than one occasion: Sav Rocca (1995, 1998), Scott Pendlebury (2010, 2011), Dane Swan (2012, 2014) and James Hird (2000, 2003, 2004), who is the only man to win it three times.

To date, the award has gone to a player on the losing side just once: in 2001, when Collingwood’s Chris Tarrant starred with five goals in an eight-point defeat.

United States Top AFL ANZAC Day Bookmakers

Top AFL ANZAC Day Bookmakers

AFL ANZAC Medal Winners

1995 Saverio Rocca (Collingwood)
1996 Scott Russell (Collingwood)
1997 Damian Monkhorst (Collingwood)
1998 Saverio Rocca (Collingwood)
1999 Mark Mercuri (Essendon)
2000 James Hird (Essendon)
2001 Chris Tarrant (Collingwood)
2002 Mark McGough (Collingwood)
2003 James Hird (Essendon)
2004 James Hird (Essendon)
2005 Andrew Lovett (Essendon)
2006 Ben Johnson (Collingwood)
2007 Heath Shaw (Collingwood)
2008 Paul Medhurst (Collingwood)
2009 Patrick Ryder (Essendon)
2010 Scott Pendelbury (Collingwood)
2011 Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)
2012 Dane Swan (Collingwood)
2013 David Zaharakis (Essendon)
2014 Dane Swan (Collingwood)
2015 Paul Seedsman (Collingwood)
2016 Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood)
2017 Joe Daniher (Essendon)
2018 Adam Treloar (Collingwood)

AFL Anzac Day Results & Records

1995 Collingwood (17.9.111) drew with Essendon (16.15.111)
1996 Collingwood (17.15.117) defeated Essendon (16.9.105) by 12 points
1997 Collingwood (14.15.99) defeated Essendon (10.10.70) by 29 points
1998 Collingwood (15.18.108) defeated Essendon (12.16.88) by 20 points
1999 Essendon (15.18.108) defeated Collingwood (15.10.100) by eight points
2000 Essendon (21.14.140) defeated Collingwood (15.10.100) by 40 points
2001 Essendon (15.13.103) defeated Collingwood (14.11.95) by eight points
2002 Collingwood (9.12.66) defeated Essendon (4.9.33) by 33 points
2003 Essendon (23.9.147) defeated Collingwood (12.9.81) by 66 points
2004 Essendon (17.10.112) defeated Collingwood (11.13.79) by 33 points
2005 Essendon (11.17.83) defeated Collingwood (10.9.69) by 14 points
2006 Collingwood (15.16.106) defeated Essendon (12.17.89) by 17 points
2007 Collingwood (12.23.95) defeated Essendon (11.13.79) by 16 points
2008 Collingwood (23.16.154) defeated Essendon (12.9.81) by 73 points
2009 Essendon (13.15.93) defeated Collingwood (12.16.88) by five points
2010 Collingwood (18.12.120) defeated Essendon (8.7.55) by 65 points
2011 Collingwood (16.11.107) defeated Essendon (11.11.77) by 30 points
2012 Collingwood (11.14.80) defeated Essendon (11.13.79) by one point
2013 Essendon (18.13.121) defeated Collingwood (10.15.75) by 46 points
2014 Collingwood (12.11.83) defeated Essendon (8.12.60) by 23 points
2015 Collingwood (9.15.69) defeated Essendon (6.13.49) by 20 points
2016 Collingwood (22.10 142) defeated Essendon (11.7 73) by 69 points
2017 Essendon (15.10 100) defeated Collingwood (11.16 82) by 18 points
2018 Collingwood (14.17 (101) defeated Essendon (7.10 52) by 49 points

James Hird

Collingwood – 14 wins (1996, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018)
Essendon – nine wins (1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2013, 2017)
Draws – one (1995)

  • Most appearances
    Dustin Fletcher (Essendon) – 18
  • Most goals in a game
    Saverio Rocca (Collingwood) – nine
  • Most goals overall
    Matthew Lloyd (Essendon) – 36
  • Most ANZAC Medals
    James Hird (Essendon) – three
  • Highest team score
    Collingwood – 23.16.154 (2008)
  • Biggest winning margin
    Collingwood – 73 points (2008)
  • Highest attendance
    94,825 (1995)

Best Online Bookmakers


For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit